Academic Calendar 2020-2021

Catalog Home

Please note: This is not intended to be construed as an employee work calendar.

Summer Term 2020

Date Event
June 22, Monday Beginning of university year; Beginning of summer term - classes beginning
July 3, Friday Academic holiday – Independence Day Observed
July 6, Monday End of second week of instruction
July 13, Monday End of third week of instruction – Census date
August 10, Monday End of seventh week of instruction
August 24 - 28, Monday-Friday Final examination period for 10-week session
August 29, Saturday End of summer term
August 29 - September 3, Saturday-Thursday Academic holiday

Fall Term 2020

Date Event
September 4, Friday Beginning of fall term (faculty only)
September 14, Monday Fall term classes begin
September 25, Friday End of second week of instruction
October 2, Friday End of third week of instruction – Census date
October 30, Friday End of seventh week of instruction
November 11, Wednesday Academic holiday – Veterans’ Day observed
November 20, Friday Last day for in-person classes
November 23 - 24, Monday-Tuesday Virtual classes only
November 25 - 29, Wednesday-Sunday Academic holiday – Thanksgiving
November 30 - December 4, Monday-Friday Virtual fall 2020 final examination period
December 5, Saturday Mid-Year Commencement, End of fall term
December 6 - January 3, Sunday-Sunday Academic holiday

Winter Term 2021

Date Event
January 4, Monday Beginning of winter term – classes begin
January 15, Monday End of second week of instruction
January 18, Monday Academic holiday – Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday observed
January 19, Tuesday Classes follow a Monday schedule
January 25, Monday End of third week of instruction – Census date
February 15, Monday Academic holiday – Washington’s Birthday observed
February 23, Tuesday End of seventh week of instruction
March 12, Friday Last day of classes
March 13, Saturday Common final exams (optional)
March 15 – 19, Monday-Friday Final examination period
March 22, Monday Evaluation Day (faculty workday; no classes), End of winter term
March 23 - 28, Tuesday-Sunday Academic holiday

Spring Term 2021

Date Event
March 29, Monday Beginning of spring term – classes begin
March 31, Wednesday Academic holiday - César Chavez's Birthday observed
April 12, Monday End of second week of instruction
April 19, Monday End of third week of instruction – Census date
May 17, Monday End of seventh week of instruction
May 31, Monday Academic holiday – Memorial Day observed
June 4, Friday Last day of classes
June 5, Saturday Common final exams (optional)
June 7–11, Monday-Friday Final examination period
June 12 – 13, Saturday-Sunday Commencement; End of spring term; End of university year (faculty only)